2023 LTAMS Award Winners Announced

During the 2023 LTAMS Annual Conference on May 19, the following awards were presented to several very deserving individuals.

The 2023 Title Person of the Year Award was presented to Robert C. Bass of Phelps Dunbar LLP. This award recognizes a single individual who exemplifies the highest standard of excellence in our industry. Robert has positively impacted this association through many hours of service and has been a positive influence on our industry and the broader real property community. He is an out-of-the-box thinker whose practice focuses on commercial real estate transactions. He is also an active member of The Mississippi Bar serving as the current Section Chair of the Real Property Section.

The 2023 Professional Excellence Award was presented to Charles E. Greer, First American Title Insurance Company, and George S. Haymans, Haymans & Company, PLLC. This award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the association and have demonstrated their ability for continued high levels of achievement in the real property and land title industry. Charles and George spent a significate amount of time over the past year working behind the scenes for the association on garbage liens and testifying before a senate committee. Their hard work on the garbage lien bill will not just benefit the real property and land title industry, but the legal profession as a whole.

Last, but certainly not least is the 2023 Volunteer of the Year Award. This award was presented to Zachary A. Atwood of Stewart Title Guaranty Company. This award recognizes the achievements of an LTAMS member who has provided exemplary support to the organization over the past year. Zac is the ultimate volunteer and served as the Education Committee Chair during the 2022-2023 year and will continue to serve as chair during the 2023-2024 year. As chair, he is responsible for coordinating webinars, lunch and learns, and other educational opportunities.